So Close (Nell Inspired-The Finale 4/30)

If I ask you
“What are you thinking?”
What would you say to me?

That night when you were near
I wanted to stay in that beautiful place with you
You brushed my arm so gingerly

And with my heartbeat pounding
The guitar muttering, the voices floating
In my eyes, you were special

If I ask you
“What are you thinking?”
What would you say to me?

The sun’s light was falling across you
In a colorless shirt, and your skin was glowing
Were we meant to meet?

And with my lips stuttering
The cars passing, the people ignoring us
In this moment, you are perfect.

This poem was inspired by Nell’s song “Island”, a romantic song with beautiful imagery. Overall this was a wonderful month, and I hope that those who were following this blog liked the little insights into my daily life experiences/moods this month. Thank you to Cameron for getting me involved, and to everyone who commented and/or liked my posts both here and on Facebook. Please enjoy this final poem and go listen to Nell’s song, they are such a talented group: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sM_RfoFBKPk

Leave a Reply

