Dreamy Eyes

The rain tonight is lovely,
It dusts the green grass in droplets
And fills the big metal gutters on the lawn where
The red bricks reflect a glow,

I can taste spring flowers
In the moist air, and the smell of books
Their old and decaying pages call back to last year,
Waiting between the shelves

And on the uneven path,
I feel the distant swish and swaying
Of your dizzying idealism, your hand on my shoulder,
Dreamy eyes in the twilight.

Charlottesville/Colorado

the mountains here
are pathetic excuses
for topography
I stand ten feet
from my door in a downpour
stare at their dull peaks
imagine them treelessly
I am drenched in rain
like a hasty baptism
but I don’t mind
because it feels like kissing you
many mouths have told me
no, stay, sleep
in my arms tonight
but only yours
actually made me want to

The colorless specks of history accumulate

Dust motes settle
on your arms and mine
dead skin against live
a martian snow captured
by the throb and frequency
of our small atmosphere
As we talk I run
my nails along the grain
of the wood-veneer table
allow its fraudulent swirls
to guide me to truth
and this is how we heal
We drink day-old coffee
black from my thermos
sit all day in a dusty cafe
without ordering, just
talking it all over
while the colorless specks
of history accumulate
and outside the window
the patient world turns
Maybe the dead cells floating
into my mouth
belonged to Jesus once